Election results: Boulton, McAndrew win BOA races, Wilson displaces incumbent on school board

Voters took to the polls Tuesday in Clayton despite a warm afternoon that turned cold, windy and wet.

Local attorney Bridget McAndrew took the open seat in Clayton’s Ward 3. Her second attempt to serve on the Clayton Board of Alderman bore fruit, as she beat out Dr. Andrew Galakatos after losing by just 21 votes three years ago.


McAdrew won rather easily this time around, taking 538 votes to Galakatos’ 302. Incumbent Alderman Alex Berger III decided not to run for re-election in Ward 3.

Meanwhile, incumbent Joanne Boulton’s  final attempt to keep her seat on the board was a successful one. After serving the citizens of Clayton in Ward 1 for the last six years, Boulton won re-election for her third and final term, beating out challenger Blair Kaiser.


Boulton, who works with alderman Richard Lintz in Ward 1, took more than 58 percent of the votes and got over 100 more than Kaiser (381 to 271). She has said she will continue to work hard to advocate for projects that have benefitted the area.

On the Clayton School Board, incumbent Amy Rubin won re-election to secure another three-year term while challenger Jason Wilson, owner of Northwest Coffee Co., displaced current board member Jenaro Centeno.

Wilson was inspired to run for the school board by his mother, who was an educator in St. Louis Public Schools (SLPS) for 41 years.

In the only uncontested race, current alderman Ira Berkowitz won re-election handily, taking 421 of the 432 votes for Clayton’s Ward 2 seat.

The numbers aren’t official until the St. Louis County Board of Elections finishes verifying them.

Clayton will swear in its new and returning elected officials during the April 24 Board of Aldermen meeting.

Here are the results from contested races, according to unofficial poll results.


(Updated on Tuesday, April 3 at 10:20 p.m.)

* indicates incumbent; winner(s) in bold

Clayton Alderman, Ward 1

(3 of 3 precincts reporting)

*Joanne Boulton          (381 votes) 58.35%

Blair Kaiser                        (271 votes) 41.50%

Write-in                              (1 vote) 0.15%

Clayton Alderman, Ward 2

(4 of 4 precincts reporting)

*Ira Berkowitz              (421 votes) 97.45%

Write-in                               (11 votes) 2.55%

Clayton Alderman, Ward 3

(4 of 4 precincts reporting)

Bridget McAndrew      (538 votes) 63.82%

Andrew Galakatos             (302 votes) 35.82%

Write-in                               (3 votes) 0.36%

Clayton School Board

  • Vote for two

(16 of 16 precincts reporting)

*Jenaro Centeno              (702 votes) 18.62%

*Amy Rubin                  (1,615 votes) 42.84%

Jason Wilson               (1,432 votes) 37.98%

Write-in                             (21 votes) 0.56%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *