Gov. Parson appoints Elliff and McDowell to Missouri Housing Development Commission and calls General Assembly to prioritize tax credit reform legislation

JEFFERSON CITY – On Monday, Governor Mike Parson announced two new appointments to the Missouri Housing Development Commission: Mark Elliff of Carthage and Rick McDowell of Parkville.

Elliff is the President/CEO and Director of Economic Development at Carthage Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the Carthage Rotary Club, Community Support Service and the McCune Brooks Health Care Foundation.

Elliff received his bachelor’s degree in business administration from Missouri Southern State University.

McDowell has 27 years of experience in economic development and is a licensed realtor. He is currently the President and CEO of Lee’s Summit Economic Council. He is a member of the Missouri Economic Development Council, Rotary Club, International Economic Development Council and the Eastern Jackson County Alliance.

Previously, McDowell was the Executive Director at the Liberty Economic Development Corporation. He received his bachelor’s degree in business and finance from Missouri State University.

Parson also called upon the General Assembly to assemble working groups in order to prioritize tax credit reform legislation for the next legislative session.

“We are confident in the legislature’s ability to develop tax credit reforms that address housing needs while ensuring greater accountability and an increased return on the investment of taxpayer dollars,” said Parson.

Parson said that being a member of the Missouri Housing Development Commission he is committed to considering current federal tax credit applications.

“Until substantial reforms are enacted, state tax credits will not be issued,” said Parson.

About the Missouri Housing Development Commission
The Missouri Housing Development Commission (MHDC) was created in 1969 by the General Assembly. MHDC administers and provides financing for the construction of affordable housing. The Commission also provides funding for home loans to qualified, first-time buyers through a network of certified, private mortgage lenders. Mortgage financing is facilitated through the sale of mortgage-backed securities and through the sale of tax-exempt bonds that the Commission is authorized to issue. The Commission administers the federal and Missouri Low-Incom Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) programs, the Affordable Housing Assistance Program Tax Credit (AHAP), federal HOME funds and homeless assistance funds for permanent housing in an effort to end homelessness in Missouri. The Commission also provides advisory, consultative training and educational services to non-profit housing organizations.

The Commission includes the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Attorney General and six persons appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.