NARAL Missouri congratulates pro-choice champions sworn-in to the Missouri General Assembly

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – The 100th Missouri General Assembly was sworn-in on Wednesday afternoon. Among those sworn-in to officer were three new pro-choice legislators Matt Sain, HD 14; Keri Ingle, HD 35 and Paula Brown, HD 70.

The three new legislators are now representing districts who were previously filled by anti-choice representatives.

“We’re excited and proud to start this legislative session with so many fresh and returning faces who are dedicated to protecting the right to choose,” Leah Boersig, NARAL Pro-Choice Missouri Board President said.

According to NARAL Missouri, they have already seen champions fighting for the pro-choice majority in 2019.

Sen. Jill Schupp, D-24, has introduced SB 170, which repeals the medically unnecessary and restrictive mandatory 72-hour waiting period between the consultation and abortion care. Schupp also introduced the Missouri Earned Family and Medical Leave Act. This is the third year that Schupp has introduced the act which would make paid leave a reality for all Missouri families.

“Since the Trump administration has committed to making abortion harder to access and filling the courts with anti-choice judges, it’s more important than ever that we protect choice on a statewide level,” Boersig said. “We look forward to working with our champions in the General Assembly to do just that this year.”