St. Louis County NAACP honors contributions to diversity in 83rd annual banquet

The St. Louis NAACP is preparing for their annual dinner to honor and highlight the contributions of community leaders that support diversity and inclusion, social justice and the advancement of civil rights across Missouri.

Held each June, the Freedom Fund Leadership Dinner brings together over 1,200 community leaders to celebrate the achievements of America’s oldest and largest Civil Rights Organization. This year’s event will be held at the Four Seasons in St. Louis, with the reception beginning at 5:30 p.m. Thursday.

U.S. Sen. Kamala D. Harris, D-California, will give the keynote address, and is being recognized with the Margaret Bush Wilson Lifetime Achievement Award.

Former Missouri Secretary of State and founder of Let America Vote Jason Kander will receive the Medgar Wiley Evers Freedom Award.

Here’s a list of this year’s honorees:

Margaret Bush Wilson Lifetime Achievement Honoree 
Rev. Ronald L.Bobo Sr., Pastor Westside Missionary Baptist Church

Ida Goodwin Woolfolk Award for Innovation 
The Nexus Group

Medgar Wiley Evers Freedom Award
Hon. Jason Kander, Founder Let America Vote

Frankie Muse Freeman/Norman R. Seay Commitment to St. Louis Award 
Bob Fox & Maxine Clark

Daisy Bates Commitment to Education Award 
Dr. Charles Pearson & Chancellor Mark Wrighton

Minority Entrepreneur of the Year Honoree 
Junior Bridgeman, President & CEO Heartland CocaCola Bottling

Jackie Robinson Award for Sports Advocacy 
Jake Bain, John Burroughs School Athlete
Indiana State University Class of 2022

Distinguished Legacy Honorees 
Sheila Sweeney, President & CEO St. Louis Economic Development Partnership
Peggy Lewis LeCompte, Retired Educator and Union Leader
Pat Jones, Educator
Lillian Eunice, City Administrator City of Northwoods

To purchase tickets, click here:

Watch a recap of the 2017 dinner below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *