C-SPAN bus to visit St. Louis area, honoring studentcam documentary winners

National winners from Clayton High School and Kirkwood High School to be honored in ceremony, in partnership with Spectrum

ST. LOUIS – Public affairs network, C-SPAN, announced the visit of its award-winning state-of-the-art, 45-foot customized bus on May 16th and May 17th to area high schools.

Through its 15th annual student video documentary competition, StudentCam, C-SPAN will be honoring local winners for their entries during their visit. In partnership Spectrum, C-SPAN will also present a StudentCam certificate of merit to the students during a ceremony of classmates, teachers, family members, and elected officials.

“As a strong supporter of civic education to make communities stronger, Spectrum proudly partners with C-SPAN for its annual documentary competition, StudentCam. Each year, we are impressed and inspired by St. Louis area students’ insight and creativity tackling national issues through their short videos. This year’s winners creatively portrayed what it means to be American,” Adam Falk, SVP of State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, said.

Since 2006, C-SPAN has partnered with its local cable television providers in communities nationwide to invite middle school students (grades 6th-8th) and high school students (grades 9th-12th) to produce short documentaries about a subject of national importance.

For this year’s competition, students addressed the theme: What does it mean to be American? Choose a constitutional right, national characteristic, or historic event and explain how it defines the American experience.

C-SPAN reported that this year’s record of entries included the participation of 6,318 students from 48 states and Washington, D.C. Popular topics among the 2,923 submissions included First Amendment rights at 17 percent, equality/discrimination at 13 percent, and immigration at 9 percent.

Event details in St. Louis include:

Thursday, May 16th, 8:30 am-9:15 am
Assembly to honor winning students at Clayton High School

3rd Prize: Madeline Bale, Menstration Descrimination
Honorable Mention: Aaron Zoll, Political Polarization in America
Honorable Mention: Darryl Sams, An Unceasing Divide

Friday, May 17th, 8:45 am-9:40 am
Assembly to honor winning students at Kirkwood High School

3rd Prize: Maddie Meyers, Freedom of the Press – It’s in our DNA
3rd Prize: Ethan Peter, Separate and Unequal
Honorable Mention: Charlotte Witt, The People Behind the Percents
Honorable Mention: Julia Smotkin, (Dis)enfranchised
Honorable Mention: Alexander Wallach, Vicous Country, Vicious City

Locally in St. Louis, C-SPAN programming is provided by Spectrum as a commercial-free public service.

“We at Spectrum are proud to join C-SPAN in congratulating the winning students at Clayton High School and Kirkwood High School,” Falk said.