SLSO members to offer free concert to community

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Members of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra (SLSO) announced on Thursday that they will be teaming up with soprano Christine Brewer and pianists Peter Henderson and Alla Voskoboynikova in a concert to celebrate the achievements of female composers.

The performance will be held for the community free of charge. The concert will feature works by English composer Rebecca Clarke, Pulitzer Prize winner Jennifer Higdon and Missouri native Stephanie Berg.

Berg’s piece, Three Prayers commissioned by Diana Haskell, SLSO associate principal clarinet, will receive its world premiere during the concert. The piece will be introduced by Berg herself and Haskell will be joined by Kristin Ahlstrom, SLSO associate principal second violin, and Anne Fagerburg, SLSO cello.

The performance, entitled Equal Play: Celebrating Women Composers, will be held on Friday, March 1, 2019 at 7:00 pm at Powell Hall. While it is free, RSVPs are requested by visiting

Started by Anne Fagerburg, the first Equal Play: Celebrating Women Composers was held in 2017 at the Washington University – St. Louis campus. In 2018, the concert drew a standing-room-only crowd and moved its location to Powell Hall.

This free concert is one of 80 free community concerts that SLSO performs throughout the St. Louis region.

Event details
Equal Play: Celebrating Women Composers
Friday, March 1, 2019, 7:00pm
Powell Hall (718 N. Grand Blvd., St. Louis, Mo.)

Kristin Ahlstrom, violin
Christine Brewer, soprano
Anne Fagerburg, cello
Diana Haskell, clarinet
Peter Henderson, piano
Alla Voskoboynikova, piano

CLARKE Trio for violin, cello and piano
Jennifer HIGDON Pale Yellow
Jennifer HIGDON Fiery Red
Stephanie BERG Three Prayers

The Equal Play: Celebrating Women Composers is sponsored by Commerce Bank.